Use the redaction tools

Use the Redaction Tool to remove confidential or supplier-related information from your documents before sharing them. This ensures that sensitive data stays protected while sharing technical files with customers or business partners.

 

Feature access

This feature is available to all ProductIP users and all plans.

 

Before you begin

  • Upload your documents to a technical file.
  • Get familiar with the ProductIP document viewer.
  • Link the documents to the requirements before you start redacting. The links to requirements will then be copied to your redacted documents.

Steps

1. Open a technical file.

2. Go to the Documents tab.

3. Click on a document, it will open in the document viewer.

4. Select the Redaction tools from the toolbar.

5. Click and drag to create rectangular areas over the content you want to remove.

6. If needed, erase a redaction area or remove all redactions at once.

7. Click Save file.

8. Choose a redaction colour (Black or White) and enter a name for the redacted version.

9. Click Save.

10. The redacted document is automatically added as a copy of the original document in your technical file.

11. Every redacted document will receive a watermark on the left side of the document: “This document was redacted with the ProductIP redaction tool on xxx. At the time of generating the document, the original document was available also. The original can only be made available by the document owner.”.

 

Tips and best practices

  • The redacted document automatically inherits the same requirement links as the original.
  • Metadata such as for example “issuer” or “issued to” is removed automatically to prevent accidental disclosure of confidential information.
  • Redacted documents are shareable by default. If you prefer to restrict sharing, clear the checkbox “Shares allowed” in the document metadata. Go to “Related articles” to learn more.
  • You can also make a redacted document public via the Digital Product Passport. Go to “Related articles” to learn more.

 

FAQ

  • Can I undo a redaction after saving?

You can undo redacted areas as long as you have not “burned” (= saved) a redaction. After that you have two options:

    1. Re-start redacting with the original document
    2. Continue redaction on top of the redacted document

ProductIP creates a document copy after you saved a redaction, but the redactions are permanent. Don’t delete your original document.

  • Does redaction affect requirement links?
    No, the redacted document retains all requirement links from the original.

 

Upload your documents

Review the received documents

Link your documents to the requirements

Use the Digital Product Passport Selector

 

Was this article helpful?

This website uses cookies

With these cookies, we and third parties can collect information about you and your internet behaviour, both within and outside our website. Based on this, we and third parties adjust the website, our communication, and advertisements to your interests and profile. You can read more information in our cookie statement. If you opt for acceptance, we will place all cookies. If you opt for rejection, we will only place functional and analytical cookies. You can adjust your preferences at a later time.

Accept all Reject More options
This website uses cookies

With these cookies, we and third parties can collect information about you and your internet behaviour, both within and outside our website. Based on this, we and third parties adjust the website, our communication, and advertisements to your interests and profile. You can read more information in our cookie statement.

Functional cookies
Arrow down

Functional cookies are essential for the proper functioning of our website. They allow us to enable basic functions such as page navigation and access to secure areas. These cookies do not collect personal information and cannot be disabled.

Analytical cookies
Arrow down

Analytical cookies help us gain insight into how visitors use our website. We collect anonymised data about page interactions and navigation, enabling us to continuously improve our site.

Marketing cookies
Arrow down

Marketing cookies are used to track visitors when they visit different websites. The goal is to display relevant advertisements to the individual user. By allowing these cookies, you help us show you relevant content and offers.

Accept all Save
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.